With more than 18 million customers and 77 million managed domains, GoDaddy has grown to be one of the largest web hosting providers. Some of its popularity is linked to large-scale promotional advertisements such as Super Bowl ads.

They once claimed that they had a commercial that was too hot for TV. However, the real question here is: are their services as hot as the commercials they claim to produce?

Since it is a dynamic provider that offers a wide range of services, I am going to do an in-depth review of different features and services provided by GoDaddy.

GoDaddy Overview

A Closer Look At GoDaddy’s Web Hosting in 2020

Unless you have been in a cryosleep for the past 30 years, you know GoDaddy. Heck! Even my grandparents are familiar with GoDaddy.

While GoDaddy is widely renowned for domain registration and web hosting, it also offers other services such as online marketing, WordPress hosting, and email hosting.

GoDaddy also offers you pre-installed WordPress with a wide array of themes to choose from. Not to mention, website creation and customization can be done through its website builder. Just key in your business information, and the builder will generate a layout that is suitable for your website.

There are different types of hosting plans and packages for users with different needs. Here are some of the packages offered by GoDaddy:

  • Shared hosting plans: these plans are suitable if you have a medium or small project that does not require a lot of processing power.
  • VPS plans: you get root access that enables you to configure your servers easily. The processing power is higher than the one provided in shared hosting plans.
  • Dedicated hosting package: this package is suitable for websites with massive traffic. It has the highest processing power and gives you access to a whole server, including all its resources.

Types of Hosting Offered By GoDaddy

Now that you have some insight into what GoDaddy offers. Let us dive deeper into the nitty-gritty details.

Shared Hosting

When I started developing websites, this was the package that I preferred the most. For starters, I did not want to spend too much money on newly-formed sites. Plus, I wanted to try out the basic features before opting for advanced packages.

If you are not willing to spend too much money on web hosting, this might be a suitable option for you. Just as the name suggests, your website gets hosted on a server with multiple sites. Everything from resources to storage space is shared with other websites. This might make your website less powerful.

With that in mind, I did not experience performance issues when my website’s traffic was low. As visitors continued to increase, I got some complaints from regular users, saying that they were experiencing long loading times when they tried to access my website. My point? Shared hosting plans might be the right package for starting out. However, you might be required to upgrade to another package as your site’s traffic increases.

A Closer Look At GoDaddy’s Web Hosting in 2020

Shared Hosting Plans

The Economy plan incorporates:

  • 100 GB of storage
  • The chance to host one website
  • Free Office 365 Starter Email (While the Office 365 Starter Email plan comes with one email address, you can upgrade it to access multiple accounts by paying an additional fee)

The Deluxe plan boosts the Economy plan by giving you:

  • Unlimited domains and unlimited storage
  • 25 databases

I used the Deluxe plan for about eight months before upgrading to another plan. It had unlimited storage, and that was very attractive to me. The price was also fair for the features it packed.

The Ultimate plan on the Shared Hosting package has:

  • Double processing power
  • Unlimited databases

Lastly, the Maximum plan provides:

  • Unlimited storage
  • Double processing power and speed
  • Unmetered bandwidth

Every plan on Shared hosting gives you free access to a one-click installer that lets you install more than 125 apps. Additional resources such as CPU and RAM can be purchased with a single click on the control panel. Extra support is provided 24/7/365 through the customer care unit.

All the plans have a 99.9% uptime guarantee. This lets you know how long a server can stay up and running while hosting your website. In this case, 99.9% uptime means your site will be online regularly and experience 45 minutes of downtime every month. If the downtime surpasses that, you get compensated as described in the uptime guarantee.

Shared Hosting Pros

  • Affordable prices
  • Websites can be easily scaled.

Shared Hosting Cons

  • Shared server resources

Here’s a quick overview of Shared hosting pricing

A Closer Look At GoDaddy’s Web Hosting in 2020

Data captured on 5/5/2020. These are the current prices. However, pricing and features are subject to change. Discounts and offers may differ depending on the location.

  • The Economy plan starts at $5.94 per month and renews at $8.99.
  • The Deluxe plan starts at $7.99 per month and renews at $ 11.99.
  • The Ultimate plan starts at $12.99 per month and renews at $16.99.
  • The Maximum plan starts at $19.99 and renews at $24.99.

GoDaddy VPS Hosting

This is the package that I have been using for the longest period. I like the fact that; it’s not as expensive as the Dedicated hosting even though it has some powerful features. Most of my regular sites, except e-commerce sites, are hosted here.

VPS hosting utilizes virtualization technology to deliver private server resources on a shared server. Unlike shared hosting, you become more isolated from other users. Think of it as an apartment complex where everybody owns a room with superb amenities, but the rest of the building is shared amongst the occupants.

The first time I subscribed to GoDaddy’s VPS hosting package, my website experienced several downtimes in the first month. I was thinking of trying out another plan, but everything stabilized in the second month. Since then, everything has been running smoothly.

The VPS package is a suitable option for websites with high traffic, growing websites, and sites with irregular traffic. It offers you:

  • High-end storage
  • Superb server memory
  • CPU cores in an isolated space.

The specs top out at 400 GB SSD storage, 32GB of RAM, and 8 CPU cores. What’s more? You get good security, extremely fast loading speeds, and the power to customize your website via different tools.

A Closer Look At GoDaddy’s Web Hosting in 2020

While this package has good specs, it is designed to help you gain more control over your server, making things more technical. You can choose between these two types of server management: self-managed and fully-managed.

Self Managed vs Fully-managed VPS hosting

If you are a designer, system administrator, or a developer with some IT experience in managing a server, the self-managed option might be the right choice for you. You will be in charge of setting up fire-walls, migrating your sites, troubleshooting issues and installing the required updates. The self-managed option might seem intimidating the first time you try it, but it gets easier with time. I’ve been there.

In the fully-managed alternative, everything that’s required to keep your server running at an optimal state is handled by GoDaddy’s team. If you don’t like the idea of configuring your server by yourself, opt for this option.

Even though I like both options, I always opt for the fully-managed option for my work websites. It helps me save time, and I’m assured of good security. On the other hand, if I’m working on a side project, I always go for the self-managed option. This lets me experiment with different features while managing a VPS.

VPS Hosting Pros

  • Easily customizable
  • Reliable for websites with high traffic

VPS Hosting Cons

  • Expensive

Here’s an overview of the standard RAM, self-managed VPS hosting pricing

A Closer Look At GoDaddy’s Web Hosting in 2020

Data captured on 5/5/2020. These are the current prices. However, pricing and features are subject to change. Discounts and offers may differ depending on the location.

  • The One vCPU plan starts at $4.99 per month and renews at the same price.
  • The Two VCPU plan starts at $19.99 per month and renews at the same price.
  • The Four vCPU plan starts at $39.99 per month and renews at the same price.
  • The Eight vCPU plan starts at $69.99 per month and renews at the same price.

An overview of the high RAM, self-managed VPS hosting pricing

A Closer Look At GoDaddy’s Web Hosting in 2020

Data captured on 5/5/2020. These are the current prices. However, pricing and features are subject to change. Discounts and offers may differ depending on the location.

  • The One vCPU plan starts at $9.99 and renews at the same price.
  • The Two vCPU plan starts at $29.99 and renews at the same price.
  • The Four vCPU plan starts at $49.99 and renews at the same price.
  • The Eight vCPU plan starts at $99.99 and renews at the same price.

An overview of the standard RAM, fully-managed VPS Hosting pricing

A Closer Look At GoDaddy’s Web Hosting in 2020

Data captured on 5/5/2020. These are the current prices. However, pricing and features are subject to change. Discounts and offers may differ depending on the location.

  • One vCPU plan starts and renews at $99.99 per month.
  • The Two vCPU plan starts and renews at $109.99 per month.
  • The Four vCPU plan starts and renews at $129.99 per month.
  • The Eight vCPU plan starts and renews at $159.99 per month.

An overview of high RAM, fully-managed VPS hosting pricing

A Closer Look At GoDaddy’s Web Hosting in 2020

Data captured on 5/5/2020. These are the current prices. However, pricing and features are subject to change. Discounts and offers may differ depending on the location.

  • One vCPU plan starts and renews at $104.99.
  • The Two vCPU plan starts and renews at $134.99.
  • The Four vCPU plan starts and renews at $164.99.
  • The Eight vCPU plan starts and renews at $239.99.

Dedicated Web Hosting

Dedicated web hosting is the package you should choose if you need a system with powerful resources. Just as the name suggests, this type of web hosting puts your website on a single server. Everything from resources to processing power is allocated to your website only. In short, it packs a lot of power! Think of it as the infinity gauntlet of hosting.

In a joint project that I did with one of my colleagues, we decided to host a website on a GoDaddy Deluxe dedicated plan. We were moving a couple of websites from a VPS hosting server to a private server because the traffic had increased.

A Closer Look At GoDaddy’s Web Hosting in 2020

The sites ended up using 20% of the system storage and 1% of the SQL database. I thought that maybe we had opted for a very powerful package, and we wouldn’t utilize all the resources. However, it’s better to be safe than sorry.

Dedicated web hosting packs amazing processing power, terabytes of storage, and enormous server memory. The Economy plan has:

  • 4 GB of RAM
  • 4 CPU cores
  • 1 TB of storage
  • Unmetered bandwidth
  • A free SSL certificate
  • Three different IP addresses

The Value plan boosts the RAM capacity of the predecessor to 8GB and storage capacity to 1.5 TB. The Deluxe plan increases the RAM to 16 GB and the storage capacity to 2 TB.

Dedicated web hosting also offers you two types of server management plans. While this package packs powerful features, it is very expensive. This makes it unfit for small businesses and small websites. Plus, such websites don’t require too much power and resources to run.

Dedicated Web Hosting Pros

  • Amazing performance

Dedicated Web Hosting Cons

  • Expensive

An overview of Dedicated Hosting Plans

A Closer Look At GoDaddy’s Web Hosting in 2020

Data captured on 5/5/2020. These are the current prices. However, pricing and features are subject to change. Discounts and offers may differ depending on the location.

  • The Economy plan starts at $94.99 per month and renews at $174.
  • The Value plan starts at $109.99 per month and renews at $204.99.
  • The Deluxe plan starts at $134.99 per month and renews at $254.99.
  • The Ultimate plan starts at $184.99 per month and renews at $354.99.

WordPress Hosting

Since most websites are powered by WordPress, GoDaddy offers you managed WordPress hosting in four different plans. You get faster loading speeds, superior website security, and support that makes your WordPress website run smoothly. I think this is a good platform to host a small business or a blog that has less than 100k visitors in a month.

If you have a website on another server, moving it to your new host will be easy. Every single step is well-explained and troublesome issues are handled by the customer care. WordPress core software is also automatically updated. This keeps your website running on the latest software and free from security threats.

A Closer Look At GoDaddy’s Web Hosting in 2020

A search engine optimization plugin is also available to help your website top in SERPs (Search Engine Result Pages). Not to mention, it does a competitor analysis that shows you the SEO tools your competitors are using. If you want superb results, you should consider linking this tool to Google Analytics.

GoDaddy backs-up your WordPress websites daily to prevent you from losing your data. You can easily restore it by following the restoration guide provided by GoDaddy. This hosting package also provides you with a reliable staging environment necessary to test out new features. Pretest new features you plan to integrate into your WordPress before making the final decision.

The WordPress hosting package has an optimized environment capable of handling huge traffic from an article that has gone viral. It also has superb software and hardware designed to deliver fast speeds.

Pros
  • Affordable prices
  • Good performance
Cons
  • SSL is only available for top-tier plans

An overview of WordPress hosting pricing

A Closer Look At GoDaddy’s Web Hosting in 2020

Data captured on 5/5/2020. These are the current prices. However, pricing and features are subject to change. Discounts and offers may differ depending on the location.

  • The Basic plan starts at $6.99 per month and renews at $9.99 per month.
  • The Deluxe plan starts at $9.99 per month and renews at $14.99 per month.
  • The Ultimate plan starts at $12.99 per month and renews at $19.99 per month.

Business Hosting Plans

The Business hosting package is designed for high-traffic, resource-intensive websites that require a powerful and easy-to-manage platform. It packs a user-friendly cPanel that makes it easier to manage your e-commerce website and its DNS. Think of it as a VPS server with a simple control panel that doesn’t require any technical knowledge. This package is the package that I usually use when I’m building e-commerce websites.

Since e-commerce websites need to be up and running all the time, I usually opt for this package to avoid massive downtimes and revenue losses. Well, it is designed to host such websites and prevent losses.

A Closer Look At GoDaddy’s Web Hosting in 2020

Last year, I developed an e-commerce website and hosted it on this package. At first, I was considering hosting it on the normal GoDaddy VPS package. But here’s a thing, I felt like the VPS hosting had limited features that would help me in marketing and increasing the business’ revenue. In the end, I choose this package because the uptime and customer support is quite good.

File migration is automatically handled, making it easier to move your website’s data from the shared package server to the business package server. Unmetered bandwidth also makes your website run smoothly, allowing it to handle high-traffic without lagging, or experiencing slow speeds. You can monitor your website’s activity and make the necessary changes when the traffic increases.

Business Hosting plans

With this package, you get higher levels of RAM, storage, CPU, and a standard SSL certificate. The Launch plan comes with:

  • 60 GB of storage
  • 2 GB of RAM
  • One CPU core
  • Unlimited websites

The Enhance plan is the most suitable plan for websites with high-traffic, Joomla, and other resource-intensive sites. It has:

  • 90 GB of storage
  • 4 GB of RAM
  • One CPU core

If you have an advanced e-commerce website or a Magento-based site, the Grow plan will be a suitable option for you. It packs:

  • 120 GB of storage
  • 6 GB of RAM
  • Three CPUs

The Expand plan is the top-tier plan with:

  • 150 GB storage
  • 8 GB RAM
  • 4 CPU cores

It is suitable for websites with media-rich content like video sites and photography blogs.

Business Hosting Pros

  • Secure, fast, and reliable
  • Suitable for resource-intensive and e-commerce websites

Business Hosting Cons

  • Expensive

An overview of Business hosting plan pricing

A Closer Look At GoDaddy’s Web Hosting in 2020

Data captured on 5/5/2020. These are the current prices. However, pricing and features are subject to change. Discounts and offers may differ depending on the location.

  • The Launch plan starts at $19.99 per month and renews at $29.99.
  • The Enhance plan starts at $34.99 per month and renews at the same price.
  • The Grow plan starts at $44.99 per month and renews at the same price.
  • The Expand plan starts at $59.99 per month and renews at the same price.

Reseller Hosting

Reseller hosting is a type of web service, which allows you to rent out purchased hard-drive space and bandwidth to a third party. It has a WHMS software that lets you divide your hosting package into multiple accounts, which can be accessed by your customers.

It also makes it possible to white-label your services and re-sell products such as SSLs, managed website plans, GoDaddy’s website builder, and domains. However, GoDaddy doesn’t provide support to customers that aren’t registered in their system. This means you have to provide support to your customers all by yourself.

Reseller Hosting Pros

  • Easy to set it up
  • Powerful and reliable

Reseller Hosting Cons

  • You have to provide support to your customers.

Here’s an overview of Reseller hosting pricing

A Closer Look At GoDaddy’s Web Hosting in 2020

Data captured on 5/5/2020. These are the current prices. However, pricing and features are subject to change. Discounts and offers may differ depending on the location.

  • The Enhance plan starts and renews at $39.99 per month.
  • The Grow plan starts and renews at $49.99 per month.
  • The Expand plan starts and renews at $64.99 per month.
  • The Established plan starts and renews at $89.99 per month.

GoDaddy’s Website Builder Review

A Closer Look At GoDaddy’s Web Hosting in 2020

In 2019, GoDaddy updated its website builder from GoCental Builder to GoDaddy Websites + Marketing. It is an all-in-one service focused on helping small businesses and entrepreneurs to improve their online existence.

This service has four plans developed to suit different needs. Every plan has a free business mobile number, SSL certificate, 24/7 support, a PayPal button, a free business email address for one year, and an insight score.

The Basic plan allows you to:

  • Send 100 marketing emails in a month.
  • Link one social media account
  • Add five social media posts and responses per month.

The Standard plan boosts its predecessor by offering you:

  • 500 marketing emails in a month
  • Three social media listing platforms
  • 20 social posts and responses per month

The Premium plan lets you enjoy:

  • Unlimited social media listing platforms
  • Unlimited social posts and responses
  • 25000 marketing emails in a month

While the eCommerce plan has the same email and marketing features as the Premium plan, it has additional eCommerce features that are not found in other plans. Examples of such features include:

  • The ability to sell your products on eCommerce sites
  • Managing discounts and promotions
  • Setting up shipping orders

GoDaddy Website Editing

2019 was the first time I tried out GoDaddy’s website builder. One of my clients asked me to help him out in designing a website using the GoDaddy website builder. The first moment I tried it out, I was blown away by its stylish and minimal feel.

For you to use this website builder, you must have a GoDaddy account. When you access the builder, the startup wizard is going to request for your website’s name and personal business information. This helps the system to analyze which kind of setup will be the most suitable for your business.

A Closer Look At GoDaddy’s Web Hosting in 2020

GoDaddy Websites + Marketing has an intuitive, uncluttered, simple, and clear back-end. You can build a website, manage SEO tools, and add links to your social pages from the dashboard. With that in mind, there is a section dedicated to social media only. It lets you link your website to various social media accounts such as Youtube, Instagram, Facebook, Pinterest Twitter, LinkedIn, and Pinterest.

You can also add buttons that will let viewers share your content on social media. Since GoDaddy’s website editor is not designed like other editors, you won’t be able to customize your website’s elements from the main window directly. Instead, customizing is done from a sidebar with different tools. Click any element you want to edit, then change its properties on the sidebar.

Is GoDaddy’s Website Builder Unique?

While you might be accustomed to hovering over elements and editing them, GoDaddy’s new editing method is easy to learn and master. It took me three days to get used to this new method. I could swiftly edit a website’s features right from the sidebar. There is also a preview feature that lets you see the general outline of the website after editing elements. Complex integrations, page elements, and standard containers can be easily embedded in your site using the web builder.

A Closer Look At GoDaddy’s Web Hosting in 2020

From your desktop, you can build a website that’s responsive on mobile phone browsers. However, you will not be able to change the mobile phone presentation. This builder also lets you customize your website on a smartphone like you would on a desktop. You can add and change images on your website through your phone. Every edit is automatically saved.

While GoDaddy packs a powerful website builder, it falls short when it comes to image editing. Instead of letting you add images on the most suitable position on your site, this builder has predetermined positions where images should be added. If you like capturing small details through customization, this might limit your style.

Insight

A Closer Look At GoDaddy’s Web Hosting in 2020

This tool informs you how well your website performs as compared to your competitors. Using Google Analytics, you can analyze how many visitors have gone through your posts. You can also track posts with the highest views and know the time spent on different posts. Insight also suggests the action that might be beneficial to your website based on data from other sites.

Marketplaces

If you are looking to sell products online, this might be a suitable tool for you. It lets you list your products on eCommerce sites like Etsy, Amazon, eBay, and Walmart. Since GoDaddy sites are compatible with debit and credit card systems, you can integrate such platforms to give your customers different payment options. You will also be able to manage your inventory on the dashboard.

SEO

GoDaddy Websites + Marketing automatically optimizes your website so that it can be highly ranked in search engines like Google, Yahoo, and Bing. All this is achieved by using a user-friendly SEO wizard that analyzes your target audience to come up with keywords and phrases that improve your site’s SEO score.
This tool highlights crucial parts of your content where you need to add keywords to improve the SEO score.

Website Builder pros

  • User -friendly interface
  • Reliable SEO tools
  • Good storage and bandwidth

Website Builder Cons

  • Image customization is limited

Performance

Does GoDaddy offer the advertised performance? There’s only one way to find out.

Uptime Tests

I decided to do some performance tests on one of my GoDaddy websites to see if the speeds are as reliable as advertised. I used Pingdom to test GoDaddy’s uptime. It utilizes three servers located in different parts of the world to send an HTTP request to your web host. If the host is not reliable, it may take more than 30 seconds to send the response.

With an average uptime of 99.7%, GoDaddy servers performed well in the Pingdom tests. Its highest result was 100%, while the lowest result was 94.6%. If a new customer is added to a server, the apache restarts, and this causes some downtime. However, after a month, everything becomes smoother because the apache doesn’t frequently restart when the server is full.

Page Tests

I performed this test by submitting a web page from GoDaddy servers to WebPageTests. It is a third party vendor organization that utilizes servers located in different parts to conduct page speed tests. Through this service, I was able to know my web page loading speeds, full loading time, and TTFB (time to the first byte).

GoDaddy did incredible in the page speed tests. It posted an average result of 2.9 seconds. The fastest loading time recorded was 0.21 seconds, while the slowest was 35 seconds. However, slow speeds are rarely experienced. GoDaddy has a good optimization team that works to make sure that the speeds are reliable.

Customer Support

A Closer Look At GoDaddy’s Web Hosting in 2020

GoDaddy has three customer support options: live chat, phone call, and a customer forum. Every now and then, you might find yourself with an issue that requires support. Due to this, I decided to conduct a test to gauge how long the customer support might take to reply to a message. I sent them multiple inquiry messages on different days. A bot asked me which department I wanted to talk to, and then it connected to that department.

GoDaddy’s Live chat support took less than 30 minutes to reply to each message. The shortest response time was 10 minutes, while the longest was 30 minutes. Responses were direct and understandable. GoDaddy has also expanded its customer support team to offer guidance and support in 27 different languages. This means they accept calls from different parts of the world, making it easier to explain your issues.

Why Should You Consider GoDaddy?

Great Performance

From the tests above, you can clearly see that GoDaddy has an average uptime of 99.7%. Page loading speeds are also fast and suitable for image-intensive websites that require a lot of resources to load.

Offers You Over 125 Applications

GoDaddy has over 125 applications that can be installed with a single click. This gives you an option to choose the most suitable CMS (content management system) for your website. Some of the CMS available for installation include Joomla, WordPress, and Drupal.

Responsive and Good Customer Care

The customer care unit at GoDaddy is very responsive. I have contacted them on numerous occasions, and they gave me fast responses. Not to forget, they offer support in different languages and are available 24/7.

Diversified Plans

Plans with different features are available at different prices, letting you choose the most suitable one. There are also affordable prices that don’t stretch your pockets too much. Some of the cheapest plans with powerful features range from $5.99- $9.99.

All-in-one stop for Web Services

Being offered different services with one provider makes it easier to manage your website. Domain registration, email marketing, hosting, and SEO optimization are examples of services that will be at your disposal.

Final Thoughts

GoDaddy is not an ordinary web hosting platform. It goes beyond the limitation of a standard web hosting to provide you with diversified services, which are critical in managing a website. It fits the description of a web hosting and a domain registrar.

All things considered, GoDaddy is suitable for hosting, building, and maintaining professional websites. It offers you an easy way to get your website up even if you are an entrepreneur. As your site grows, you can upgrade to the different plans with more powerful features.

Get started with GoDaddy

Scroll to top of page